What we as Christians are lacking greatly: Eternal Perspective

The world we live in is so lost and dying and I truly believe it’s because our perspective is off. Here on earth our focus is merely on ourselves and worldly satisfaction. I believe that the perspective of those in hell and in heaven is that of the lost souls. Hell is crying out to warn the lost while heaven is rejoicing for the lost who have been found. Just imagine how much the world around us would change if we focused on saving the lost souls around us as much as they did. That’s what this poem I wrote below is deeply depicting. Read and ask yourself if you have an eternal perspective.

Eternal Perspective

By: Renee Cooper

I awake to find myself encased in a place of esoteric evil

As I gaze around, I see a lake but it is not made up of water, instead a harsh element, a relentless one

Everything is afire but yet the cold, dark, empty feeling remains

Then there are the creatures!

I see one hovering over a body inflicting pain, devouring repeatedly as it turns to me with a smile

I close my eyes and listen to all the sounds that surround me.

Weeping, gnashing, scream upon scream

There are words but I can’t quite make them out…

What are they crying out for? What is it they are saying?

I open my eyes into a new realm of existence

I enter through a gate of pearls

As I look down I find that I am walking on Gold

Beautiful gems and jewels surround my walkway

And the light that emits forth is different than that of the sun

It brings with it a peace and serenity in which my words fail to describe

Then there are the creatures!

They are dressed in eloquence and grace, all scattered around a throne

They are jumping, lifting their hands as they rejoice

They are shouting something but I can’t quite make out the words…

What are they rejoicing for? What is it they are saying ?

My alarm clock rings several times before I arise

I turn on the news to find more reports of killings, division, and war

As I am driving I see a woman give me an obscene gesture, unsatisfied with my speed

I stop to eat and find that everyone has their eyes glued to the devices on which they hold

Then a man cusses his waitress because his food is just too cold

I can’t help but wonder what these people are living for? What are their hearts screaming for?

I have found the answer to the first two places in the scroll

They were crying out and focused on the LOST so that they may save their souls

But here on earth it seems there is no ETERNAL PERSPECTIVE

Instead our hearts cry for immediate gratification in a place that is only temporarily sanctioned.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.