Confessions of a Complacent Christian: Unveiling the Mask

Allow me to be completely transparent with you, or I guess I should say with myself. The past year or so I have been wearing a mask, trying to fool others and even myself into thinking that I am on the right track in my relationship with God.  I suppose I am on the right track but the train isn’t moving anywhere and hasn’t in quite some time. I have been complacent. That’s a nice way of putting it, the real word here is lukewarm. The thought of living a lukewarm lifestyle deeply upsets me, mostly because I know it doesn’t just upset God, it disgusts Him. Revelations 3:16 NIV – “So because you are lukewarm, neither hot nor cold, I am going to spit you out of my mouth.”

I remember a time that whenever I heard the name of Jesus, my heart would skip a beat, my stomach would flutter, and I would be filled with pure joy;  a time when worship was more than raising hands to nice songs out of habit;  when prayer was spending quality time with my best friend;  and a time when seeing a lost soul broke my heart as it broke God’s . That is because I didn’t just know him,  I was fully devoted in love. Now when I hear His name, I feel nothing. When I worship, it’s out of duty and not full surrender and praise. Prayer now consists of distracted, repeated words, and when I see the lost I just accept it.

True change starts today.  I no longer want to be apart of the countless lukewarm Christians in America today living on the fence.  We can’t go anywhere when we have one foot with God and the other in this world. I don’t now about you, but I do not want to be “spit out” of God’s mouth at the time of judgement, and honestly I just miss him right now.  So now, how do we break the cycle of complacency? I think it starts by doing these three things:

  •  Make a decision-

Choose between God and this world. As great as some worldly pleasures can be, would you really prefer them over the peace and love Jesus provides in this life or over the promise of eternity in heaven that He has for us? So pick between living for now or living for eternity.

  • Spend more time with Jesus:

Go to church and pay attention, worship Him more and out of love, pray often and like you mean it, and read your bible like the treasure it is.

  • Serve him:

Make a difference in someone’s life, live a life that serves others, or get involved in your church.

My mask is finally off and it feels great. If you are wearing one too,  I pray you will unveil it and that we will fall in love with Jesus all over again together. Let’s break the cycle.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Complacent Christian: Unveiling the Mask

  1. I can relate to this. I have been stuck myself, sometimes I question my faith, I wanted to believe but different circumstances made me think otherwise, but I realised that I have to look and dig deeper for faith, because it’s within me. I hope you can do the same.

    Hey dear, don’t hesitate to visit my blog page, I would really love to connect with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.